Tis the season to paint pumpkins!

Ah, pumpkin season! My favorite. Ever since I was a kid, I loved pumpkins. Going to the pumpkin patch was one of my favorite things to do, my sister and I would always fight over the same pumpkin and who had the biggest, leaving my poor mom to lug the giants back.

The only thing I didn’t love was the carving part. For one thing, my mom and dad were smart enough not to let a 5 and an 8 year old have knives, so we just drew our designs on and they did the actual carving. Mine always looked just WRONG. And then I got angry and threw a temper tantrum and got sent to my room with no roasted pumpkin seeds. LAME.

After multiple years of meltdowns, my parents changed their approach and we started painting pumpkins. That worked out MUCH better and I loved making faces on the little pumpkins and turning them into the little sister pumpkins, dogs, cats, and parrots.

Pinterest has some awesome examples of the sweet things you can do with a pumpkin and some paint.Image
via sunshineandcarousels.blogspot.com

Image adorable.

Image

via lilsugar.com

Painting pumpkins is fun and much less mess, much more creativity, as you can see. Me and my girlfriends decided to celebrate Halloween and paint pumpkins during Monday’s debate.

Imagehard at work! I love to paint, I’m not great at it but it makes me so relaxed!

ImageAstrid and her Bears pumpkin and Shalyn and her princess pumpkin

ImageShalyn’s pumpkin!

Shalyn and Astrid accidentally bought washable paint, so getting it to stay ended up being a really big problem. We all out our pumpkins in front of a big fan to dry faster, so Shalyn and Astrid’s just took longer to get there.

So that was that! Lots of fun for everyone involved and no knife fights!

20121024-220347.jpg

20121024-220356.jpg

 

I leave you with this… Enjoy Halloween weekend!

3 thoughts on “Tis the season to paint pumpkins!

Leave a Reply

